Each year CSUPERB honors and recognizes outstanding CSU faculty and students during the annual Biotechnology Symposium.
This year’s award nomination deadline was Monday, September 26, 2016. Award winners will be announced at the symposium.

Previous awardees can be searched by program name in the CSUPERB Grants and Awards database.

Symposium Awards made at the 28th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium (2016) were:

2016 ANDREOLI FACULTY SERVICE AWARD: Dr. Amybeth Cohen, Professor & Director, Department of Biological Science, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, CSU Fullerton


Dr. Cohen was recognized for her leadership in promoting student success in molecular biology and biotechnology at CSU Fullerton. Dr. Cohen was group leader during the development of the Concentration in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology and guided the group to the creation of what is now the second largest concentration in the Department of Biological Science, serving more than 500 students annually. Since 2005 Dr. Cohen has served as the Director of the National Institutes of Health-funded Minority Access to Research Careers (MARC) Scholars Program. Pictured here (left to right): David Bowman (Interim Dean, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, CSU Fullerton), Robert Koch (Special Assistant to the Provost and Professor of Cell Biology, CSU Fullerton), Dr. Cohen, Laura Arce (MARC Program Assistant Director, CSU Fullerton) & Michael Goldman (CSUPERB Faculty Consensus Group Chair, Professor of Biology at San Francisco State University & Chair, 2016 Andreoli Award Selection Committee).

2016 CSUPERB FACULTY RESEARCH AWARD: Dr. Kelly Doran, Professor, Department of Biology, San Diego State University

FacResearch_MaloyDoranGomezDr. Doran was recognized not only for her “outstanding research productivity and her dedication to students,” but also her ability to bring the excitement of research into the classroom. Dr. Doran’s research program at San Diego State University (SDSU) studies the host-pathogen interactions of Gram positive bacterial pathogens. Her group has published over 50 peer-reviewed manuscripts since the opening of her SDSU lab, 20 of which were co-authored with students. Her research program has been continuously funded by NIH R01 grants, in addition to grants from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund and others, including CSUPERB. Pictured here (left to right): Stanley Maloy (Dean, College of Sciences, San Diego State University), Dr. Doran & Frank Gomez (CSU Los Angeles, 2007 Faculty Research Awardee & Chair, 2016 Faculty Research Award Selection Committee).


Pauling_Formal_CheimCuajungcoTeagueMr. Kevin Chiem, (Master’s degree candidate, Department of Biological Science, CSU Fullerton). Nominating Mentor: Dr. Ester Chen, Associate Professor of Biological Science, CSU Fullerton. As a CSU Fullerton undergraduate, Mr. Chiem taught a biology core course (BIOL 171 Evolution and Biodiversity) for three years as a Supplemental Instruction (SI) leader for  Since Fall 2013 he served as a teaching assistant for General Microbiology. Mr. Cheim writes, “I initially came from an artistic background and later transitioned to science, which aided me in seeing the benefits of creative thinking when it comes to teaching and learning science.” The selection committee was particularly impressed with the examples he included of his creative approaches to teaching and assessment, and applauds his “tireless efforts to improve the course curriculum.”

Ms. Kristine Teague (Biological Sciences master’s candidate, Humboldt State University) Nominating mentor: Dr. Roxann Schroeder, Lecturer, Department of Environmental Science and Management, Humboldt State University. Ms. Teague has taught sections in Cell and Molecular Biology at Humboldt State University. The selection committee was most impressed by her thoughtful narrative in which she described the benefits to society of scientific understanding, including her recognition that “the goal of education should not only be to teach students a particular subject, but to engage their minds in a critical discussion and inspire true understanding and exploration.” Pictured here (left to right): Mr. Chiem, Math Cuajungco (CSU Fullerton & Chair, 2016 Pauling Award Selection Committee).


Evaluation Panels’ Special Recognition:  Biliblu (CSU Sacramento), LaserClean (San Diego State University) & OVON (San José State University) – pictured below. Read more about the Fall 2015 cohort of teams at: http://www.csuperb.org/csuicorps/fall-2015/













Nagel_SavageFloresLivingstonResearch Mentor: Brian Livingston, Department of Biological Sciences, CSU Long Beach. The National Science Foundation (NSF)-supported Livingston lab studies the evolutionary biology and biochemistry underlying the formation of biomineralized skeletons found in sea creatures like sea urchins and brittle stars. Ms. Flores used biochemical and bioinformatic methods to identify proteins associated with biomineralization. She traveled to Misaki Marine Biological Station in Japan last summer to take a short course with an international group of scientists. Pictured here (left to right): Tom Savage (CSU Sacramento & Chair, 2016 Nagel Award Selection Committee), Ms. Flores & Brian Livingston (CSU Long Beach).


Eden_RiggsFowlerResearch Mentor: Sergio Iniguez, Department of Psychology, CSU San Bernardino. The NIH-supported Iniguez lab is studying how stress works as a risk factor for the development of mood-related illnesses, including depression, anxiety, and posttraumatic stress disorder in women. Ms. Riggs examined the expression of signaling genes in the region of the brain associated with depression following stress. Pictured here (left to right): Ms. Riggs and Ms. Lisba Fowler (Eden Family Representative).